OUR HISTORY

St. Bernard’s Elementary School is a vibrant school serving students from Pre-K to Grade 8. Founded in 1886 by the Sisters of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary as separate boys’ and girls’ schools, the school became co-educational in 1966 when it opened the doors of the new school located at 254 Summer Street. St. Bernard’s has educated generations of families from Fitchburg. Continuing this long tradition of excellence in Catholic education, our students now come from the greater Fitchburg area, North Central Massachusetts and southern New Hampshire.

We are proud to be a parish school, led and supported by St. Bernard’s Parish at St. Camillus Church and blessed to continue to have Sisters of the Presentation on our staff.